PM Modi Launches 10 New Vande Bharat Trains, Unveiling Routes and Details - Travel News
post-template-default,single,single-post,postid-9742,single-format-standard,mkd-core-1.3,mkdf-social-login-1.4,mkdf-tours-1.4.3,voyage-ver-2.1,mkdf-smooth-scroll,mkdf-smooth-page-transitions,mkdf-ajax,mkdf-grid-1300,mkdf-blog-installed,mkdf-breadcrumbs-area-enabled,mkdf-header-standard,mkdf-sticky-header-on-scroll-up,mkdf-default-mobile-header,mkdf-sticky-up-mobile-header,mkdf-menu-item-first-level-bg-color,mkdf-dropdown-animate-height,mkdf-header-style-on-scroll,mkdf-medium-title-text,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.8.0,vc_responsive
 / India  / PM Modi Launches 10 New Vande Bharat Trains, Unveiling Routes and Details
Vande Bharat
14 Mar

PM Modi Launches 10 New Vande Bharat Trains, Unveiling Routes and Details

Prime Minister has inaugurated 10 new Vande Bharat trains, bringing the total count to over 50 and expanding the network to cover 45 nationwide routes.

Addressing the occasion, Prime Minister Modi highlighted the significance of the nation’s ongoing development efforts, underlining the promising future ahead. He emphasized the role of willpower, urging the youth to contribute to shaping the country’s railway system and its trajectory.

Currently, Indian Railways operates 41 Vande Bharat Express services across 24 states and 256 districts, enhancing connectivity nationwide through Broad Gauge electrified networks.

The newly introduced Vande Bharat trains will enhance connectivity on six key routes, including Delhi-Katra, Mumbai-Ahmedabad, Delhi-Varanasi, Mysuru-Chennai, Kasaragod–Thiruvananthapuram, and the latest addition, Visakhapatnam–Secunderabad.

Previously inaugurated Vande Bharat trains in December 2023 have already bolstered connectivity on several routes, including Katra to New Delhi, Amritsar to Delhi, Coimbatore to Bangalore, Mangalore to Madgaon, Jalna to Mumbai, and Ayodhya to Delhi.

The 10 new Vande Bharat Express trains will operate on the following routes:

Ahmedabad-Mumbai Central
New Jalpaiguri-Patna
Khajuraho-Delhi (Nizamuddin)
Kalaburagi–Sir M Visvesvaraya Terminal Bengaluru
Mysuru-Dr. MGR Central (Chennai)

Additionally, Prime Minister Modi extended four existing Vande Bharat trains: Gorakhpur-Lucknow to Prayagraj, Thiruvananthapuram-Kasargod to Mangaluru, Ahmedabad-Jamnagar to Dwarka, and Ajmer-Delhi Sarai Rohilla to Chandigarh.

Introduced by Indian Railways in 2019, the Vande Bharat Express has undergone significant enhancements, including faster acceleration and deceleration, ambient lighting, aircraft-style toilets, personalized reading lights, automatic interconnecting doors, fully sealed gangways, modern luggage racks, and European-style seats.

Reports suggest that Indian Railways is actively developing a sleeper version of the Vande Bharat Express for overnight travel, with a prototype currently in production in Bengaluru by BEML. Recently, Railway Minister Ashwini Vaishnaw inaugurated the car body of the sleeper version, marking another stride in India’s rail innovation.